100% up to £100
+ 100 Free spins
Welcome Bonus

1989 World Series of Poker

The 1989 World Series of Poker (WSOP) was a series of poker tournaments held at Binion’s Horseshoe. The 1989 Main Event was won by 24-year-old Phil Hellmuth, defeating defending champion Johnny Chan, and also breaking the record for being the youngest player to win the WSOP Main Event (a record previously set by Stu Ungar in 1980). Had Chan won, he would have tied Johnny Moss’s record of 3 Main Event wins. This year also marked the first year in which Moss did not finish any WSOP tournaments inside the payout positions.

This article does not cite any sources. Please help improve this article by adding citations to reliable sources. Unsourced material may be challenged and removed.
Find sources: “1989 World Series of Poker” – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR
(June 2019)
(Learn how and when to remove this template message)

Preliminary events

Event Winner Prize Runner-up
$1,000 Limit Hold’em George Allen Shaw $179,600 Lee Southard
$1,500 Seven Card Razz John Laudon $95,400 Said Barjesteh
$1,500 Seven Card Stud Split Mike Sexton $104,400 Sid Herald
$500 Ladies’ Seven Card Stud Alma McClelland $18,600 Adrienne Zoia
$1,500 Ace to Five Draw Harry Madoff $119,400 Billy Baxter
$1,500 Pot Limit Omaha Barry Blackburn $108,000 T. J. Cloutier
$1,500 Seven Card Stud Mel Judah $130,800 Jerry Buhr
$5,000 Deuce to Seven Draw Bob Stupak $139,500 Billy Baxter
$5,000 Seven Card Stud Don Holt $154,000 David Sklansky
$1,500 Limit Omaha Lyle Berman $108,600 MacDonald Kempe
$2,500 Pot Limit Omaha Frank Henderson $184,000 Kevin Redican
$2,000 No Limit Hold’em Norman Keyser $244,000 Tommy Grimes
$2,000 Limit Hold’em Thomas Chung $212,000 Carl McKelvey

Final table

Place Name Prize
1st Phil Hellmuth Jr $755,000
2nd Johnny Chan $302,000
3rd Don Zewin $151,000
4th Steve Lott $83,050
5th Lyle Berman $67,950
6th Noel Furlong $52,850

Other High Finishes


Place Name Prize
11th John Esposito $12,500
14th Jay Heimowitz $12,500
16th John Bonetti $12,500
22nd Mickey Appleman $10,000
23rd Chip Reese $10,000
24th An Tran $10,000
25th Hilbert Shirey $10,000
28th Yoshio Nakano $7,500
29th Berry Johnston $7,500